Who We Are

Manitoba FASD Coalition is a province-wide collaborative network of individuals and organizations from across all sectors committed to supporting prevention, education, research, and intervention activities in the area of fetal alcohol spectrum disorder. We share ideas, information, resources, challenges and successes.

Board of Directors

Chantal McClelland, B.A. Developmental Studies (Inclusion), RSW, ECE III Urban President, Manitoba FASD Coalition

Chantal McClelland is Coordinator of the InSight Mentoring Program a FASD Prevention program in Thompson, MB since 2009. She is involved in a number of initiatives that promote the well-being and health of mothers at risk for substance use during pregnancy within the north. She is also former chair of FASD Coalition for Thompson and Area and held that position for several years. Chantal holds a B. A Developmental Studies from University of Winnipeg and spent her internship learning of interventions from the FASD Behavioural Specialists in Winnipeg.   Chantal lives with her husband Mark in Paint Lake Provincial Park and spends any free moment she can with her daughter Adrianna; granddaughter Claire and grand dog George.

Carrie McIntosh, Rural President, Manitoba FASD Coalition

Carie McIntosh is the Disability Research Advocate for Opaskwayak Health Authority on Opaskwayak Cree Nation in Opaskwayak, Manitoba (July 2013 to present). One of the main goals of her position is to secure equity in service provision for people living on reserve. Previously, Carie was the Family Service Worker for Children’s Special Services from 2001-2013 where she provided information, support and services for families who had a child with a disability. Carie has a degree in Psychology with a Minor in Women’s Studies from the University of Saskatchewan and has worked on social issues including women’s issues, environmental issues, child welfare and disability services since 1997. A life-long learner, she is continuously learning about FASD-informed care, treaty rights, addictions, trauma, grief/loss, and adverse childhood experiences (ACE). Recently, she returned to the Co-Chair position for The Pas and Area FASD Committee where she has been an active member since 2004. In 2008-2009, Carie was the co-chair of MCAP with Leilani Buschau working to increase MCAP membership province-wide. In her time away from her desk, Carie is the mom/chauffeur to three wonderful kids (Olivia, Diana, and Carter) and is a volunteer Board Member with The Pas Community Renewal Corporation.

Chris Culleton-Koebel, FASD Life’s Journey Inc., Treasurer


Twyla Gilroy – Twyla is an FASD Diagnostic Coordinator with the Manitoba FASD Network.  She is employed by Prairie Mountain Health, providing service to the Dauphin/Swan River area (August 2016-present).  Prior to this, she was involved in FASD prevention as the InSight Mentor Coordinator in Dauphin (2010-2016), and worked in the addictions field (2001-2010).   Twyla holds a Bachelor of Social Work degree from the University of Manitoba and is a registered member of the Manitoba College of Social Workers. Twyla has been an active member of the Manitoba FASD Coalition (and Manitoba Coalition on Alcohol and Pregnancy) since 2010.  She served on the newsletter committee for several years. Twyla has a passion for supporting families and reducing the stigma related to FASD.

Marijke Vonderbank

Lucy Muswagon

Joanne Wyman – Joanne has been a Regional FASD Diagnostic Coordinator since 2009 and works out of The Pas Manitoba. Joanne has been a dedicated member of the Manitoba FASD Coalition since 1999.

Administrative Coordinator

Kim Wozniak, coordinator@fasdcoalition.ca

Past Board Members

Special thanks go out to the dedicated individuals who took a leadership role within the Manitoba FASD Coalition in the past and who continue to advocate for change around the issue of FASD!

Leilani Buschau (October 2017 – October 2018)
Jewel Reimer (October 2017 – October 2018)
Noella Gentes (October 2016 – August 2017)
Betty Wiebe Hosein (April 2013 – June 2016)
Rodney Jones (June 2012 – January 2016)
Cathe Umlah (July 2011 – April 2013)
Kim Aikens (November 2011 – May 2012)
Leilani Buschau (June 2008 – June 2011)
Joanne Wyman (March 2009 – November 2010)
Carie McIntosh (March 17, 2008 – February 2009)
Jocelyn Bjorkland (October 2006 – January 2008)
Brenda Bennett (October 2006 – January 2008)
Zenon Lisakowski (January – September 2006)
Dale Kendel (1993 – October 2007)